Deactivating vs deleting Instagram account

When spending a few times on social media platforms, you will surely want to take a break to spend time in real life and reduce anxiety. That’s why you are finding ways to delete Instagram accounts

Besides deleting Instagram accounts, you can choose to deactivate them. And we are going to teach you how to do both ways and provide tips. 

Now, let’s dive into the article and see what we’ve got for you!

Best place to buy Instagram accounts – Buy & sell Instagram account

Deactivating vs deleting an Instagram account

Before deactivating or deleting your Instagram account, you need to know exactly where you are getting into. 

You should only deactivate your accounts for temporary purposes. Deactivating means you will temporarily hide your account’s data, including your profiles, photos, likes, followers, and comments temporarily. 

And this information only resurfaces when you log in to Instagram to start using it again. 

In contrast, delete means that all your account’s data will be disappeared forever. And you can’t undo this action. Also, your username will never be used again by either you or anybody else. 

But first I want to ask do you really want to delete your Instagram account? Because you can earn a little bit of money from it instead of deleting it. There are people who are looking to buy Instagram accounts cheap, you can sell them through Mid Man, simple, convenient, and fast. If you still want to delete your account, let’s get started.

Deactivating vs deleting Instagram account
Instagram app

You may also like: Top Instagram accounts – A comprehensive summary in 2022

How to save Instagram account data

As we’ve said, permanently deleting your Instagram account means all data will be gone for good. Therefore, you should save your account data by following these steps:

  • First, access your Instagram app and locate your profile using the icon on the screen’s low-right corner. 

Delete instagram accounts

  • Then, in the top-right corner, go to the hamburger icon’s menu options and choose Settings.

Delete instagram accounts

  • Choose Security and then Download Data choice.

Delete instagram accounts

  • Write your email address and choose Request Download 

Delete instagram accounts

Finally, after 48 hours, you will receive a file from Instagram including all data from your profile, such as comments, photos, and other information. 

If you wish to see this file in the future, please protect it, such as making a copy or encrypting; otherwise, you will never see this information again, regardless of how hard you try. 

How to delete your Instagram accounts

From Instagram app

With this option, firstly, access to your Instagram app 

  • Then, tap on your picture in the lower-right corner of the screen to go to your account profile. 
  • Tap on the menu icon in the top-right corner to choose the Settings option. 
  • Locate to the Help option
  • Choose Help Center to open the browser window for further instructions on how to delete Instagram accounts. 
  • You will choose the option Managing Your Account and then Delete Your Account.
  • You will be directed to a page on which you will choose: How do I delete my Instagram account?. If not, choose the above option for temporarily disabling your account, which we will discuss below.
  • Now, read the conditions and choose to Delete Your Account. This means you will delete your Instagram account permanently; however, you have 30 days to reactivate it if you change your mind. 
  • Choose the reasons why you want to delete an Instagram account
  • Write your password and then choose Permanently delete my account 

deleting instagram accounts

  • Tap Ok when a confirm window prompts into your screen. After 30 days, your account will be deleted permanently. 

From a computer

First, you will access https://help.instagram.com from your web browser

  • Choose the option Managing Your Account on the left 
  • Then select Delete Your Account 
  • Choose the option How do I delete my Instagram account?
  • Go through the conditions and then select Delete Your Account. 
  • Choose why you want to delete your account and then enter your password.
  • Click Permanently delete my account and click Ok to confirm your choice. 
Delete your Instagram accounts from a computer
Instagram official account

From a mobile browser

First, go to this link to access the Delete Your Account page using your mobile browser, Safari, and Chrome. You should do it now if you haven’t logged in to your account. (https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/)

  • Log in to the Instagram account.
  • Then, select why you want to delete your accounts
  • Next, please enter your password and tap into the Permanently delete my account. 
  • And done, you have already deleted your account and its data. Now, it will take 30 days to delete your account officially. 
Delete your Instagram accounts from a mobile browser
Log in to the Instagram account.

You may also like: Ways on creating and managing multiple Instagram accounts

How to deactivate your Instagram accounts

Deleting your accounts may seem too dramatic; therefore, you can temporarily disable them. If you want to come back, log back in. Here are the steps for you:

1. Go to the Instagram website in your (mobile) browser. You can use your app, but it will eventually lead to the web browser; it is the quickest way. 

Deactivate your Instagram accounts
Go to an Instagram website

2. Log in to your account (if you haven’t done that)

Deactivate your Instagram accounts
Log in to the Instagram account

3. Go to your profile by clicking the icon on the screen’s top-right corner.

Deactivate your Instagram accounts
Go to the profile page

4. Select Edit Profile

Deactivate your Instagram accounts
Edit the profile

5. Please choose the option Temporarily disable my account blue text 

Deactivate your Instagram accounts
Choose the option Temporarily disable my account

6. Select the reasons why you deactivate your account from the drop-down list. Enter your password and click Temporarily Disable Account. You’re done! 

Deactivate your Instagram accounts
Verify by re-entering your password

FAQs about how to delete Instagram accounts

How long does it take for Instagram to delete my account?

As we’ve mentioned earlier, Instagram will delete your account after 30 days from the day of your request. 

In the meanwhile, your account will be invisible, and no one can see it. If you re-decide, make sure to log back into your account within those 30 days. 

Some of you may wonder how long it takes for Instagram to delete inactive or spam accounts; however, the answer is relatively subtle. 

Instagram will surely delete these accounts through their system check; we don’t know when, how often, and the conditions for this to happen. Therefore, ensure to use your account usually and do not spam. 

Can I delete an account that I am not able to log in?

The answer is no. You need to log in to the account before deleting it. If you forgot your old account’s password, you need to recover it first. 

Click on the Forgotten your password option on the login page and enter your email address and phone number to get a login link. 

If you forgot every information, choose the Need more help option to follow further instructions. 

Can I delete other accounts?

Sadly, you can’t. The Instagram policy emphasizes that only the owners can delete their accounts following the instructions. If you want to delete it, you need to have the login information. 

Related articles:

Detailed guide on how to create an Instagram account in 2022

How to unlink Instagram accounts: A detailed guide and tips

Conclusions

Have you been satisfied with this given information? We hope that the answer is yes. With this article, you will surely know how to delete Instagram accounts and other tips. 

Sadly, we’ve come to the end of the article. Thank you for staying with us till the end of it. Goodbye and see you in our following one.

Spread the love